Aeneas Ensemble

Sunday February 12, 2023 @ 15h00

The Aeneas Ensemble was founded in 2018. The ensemble will play works by Corelli, Aubert, Taylor, Boccherini, Sarasate and Bach. ( program details ).

Sylvia Eisermann (violin) is a member of the Bavarian State Orchestra and has played under the direction of celebrated conductors such as Zubin Mehta, Kurt Masur, Kirill Petrenko, Kent Nagano and Gustavo Dudamel. She has toured in many countries. She joined the orchestra in 2004 after six years at the Munich Radio Orchestra.
Born in Munich, she trained at the Musikhochschule in Mannheim and was a pupil of Wanda Wilkomirska. She graduated with honours and studied further under Lewis Kaplan in New York. Sylvia has given concerts with the Münchner Philharmoniker, the Bamberger Symphoniker, the RTE Orchestra Dublin and the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra.

Julia Dräger (violin) was born in Braunschweig, Germany and gained a music degree at the prestigious Musikhochschule Mannheim, followed by studies with Prof. Franciszek Jurys at the Music Academy of Darmstadt. She was an active participant in international masterclasses with Alexander Arenkow, Klara Flieder, Winfried Rademacher and Roman Nodel.

Julia has also played in the International Orchestra Academy of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra with the acclaimed conductors Lorin Maazel, Kurt Sanderling and Semyon Bychkov, and the Jeunesses Musicales with Dennis Russell Davies.
She is a highly sought-after violin teacher in the London Borough of Richmond, UK.

Jonathan Booth (piano/organ) studied music with the internationally acclaimed pianist and musicologist, Peter Hill, in Sheffield, and subsequently with Kofi Agawu at Kings College London, graduating with first class honours.
He combines his work as a recitalist with performance coaching for gifted young players, teaching at the outstanding St Richard Reynolds Catholic College in Twickenham, UK, and is in high demand as an instrumental and choral accompanist on both piano and organ.
He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts in recognition of his work on international collaboration


Arcangelo Corelli (1653 – 1713)
Sonata da Chiesa Op. 3 No. 10 for 2 violins and piano
     Vivace – Adagio – Allegro

Jacques Aubert (1689 – 1753)
Chaconne for 2 violins

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875 – 1912)
Barcarolle Op. 3 No. 3 for violin and piano

Luigi Boccherini (1743 – 1805)
Larghetto Op. 5 No. 2 for 2 violins

Pablo de Sarasate (1844 – 1908)
Introduction & Tarantella for violin and piano

Frederic Chopin (1810 – 1849)
Ballade No. 3 in A flat major Op. 47 for piano

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)
Concerto D minor BWV1043 for two violins and piano
     Vivace – Largo ma non tanto – Allegro